The Grizzly Man – 2005

The Grizzly Man

 

A few months ago I stumbled upon a very strange find. “The Grizzly Man”. A 2005 documentary about a man and his passion for bears. Well, not quite you see…

I didn’t plan on watching this movie from start to finish at first, simply because I didn’t think it was going to be all that fascinating. Just another wildlife documentary, nice cinematography, great scenery shots, and raw wildlife encounters caught on tape. Boy was I wrong. Before I knew it, I was half-way through it completely perplexed at what I was seeing and witnessing in front of me on my screen. It was sad, depressing, strange, inspiring and funny all at the same time. I couldn’t look away.

This wasn’t a film based on documenting wildlife or living with grizzly bears in the wild as I first thought coming into it. Instead, it went a hell of a lot deeper then that. I found myself watching a documentation of a man (Timothy Treadwell) losing his mind and slowly slipping away to mental illness. And the scariest part about it was, he was alone, in the wilderness with only his camera by his side recording every moment of it.

Enjoy, the strangest documentary I’ve seen to date.

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm144936192/tt0427312

Leave a Reply

