Where the 50mm’s at?

So, thought I had my mind set on the Canon 50mm 1.4 …but now that ain’t the case. As a matter a fact, I’m scared of wasting money on it.

What’s going on with the 50’s from Canon?

#1 50mm 1.8 – Poor ass AF system, can’t focus properly, plastic-cheap build, looks like a toy, and easy to break. Fragile as shit. Fell on a pillow for some users = broke, RIP.

#2 50mm 1.4 – AF breaks after sometime (for some within a few days. sad shit), horrible AF issues at 1.4, focus motor failure (Google is packed with these reports. Reminds me of Apple Product complaints).. not happy with this. Ain’t having it.

Canon 50mm 1.4

#3 50mm 1.2 – Built like a tank, heavy as fuck, uncomfortable to hold for long periods, $1700. Picture quality isn’t better then the 1.4. Price is not justified.

What does this leave? The Sigma 1.4? *ugh* notorious AF issues at well at 1.4…Better build though. But the AF reports are just scary.

I need a piece of glass for low light. Prime glass only.

EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM is surely a beast and will be purchased in the future. Love everything about that lens. But on a crop body? Not happening. At least not now, I will not benefit from that.

I NEED A 50mm ..DAMMIT CANON. WHY CAN’T YOU MAKE A PROPERLY DESIGNED, REASONABLY PRICED 50mm LENS in 2013!?

Anyone out there reading this? If you have any advice on worthy 50mm’s let me know. 

What to do? Waste $125 for the 50mm 1.8? I feel like its throwing away money down the drain. Arggggggg….

2 thoughts on “Where the 50mm’s at?

  1. My housemate has the 50mm 1.4 that I use sometimes for my food photography – have never had any problems with it. It’s about 2-3 years old now. Then again, I’m not exactly a pro so maybe there’s tons wrong with it and I don’t even have a clue.

  2. Thanks for your comment! Much appreciated. I’ve heard it go both ways. I suppose you’re one of the lucky ones. Some people even leave it in their camera bag for months at a time (without using it) and when they pull it out its just stuck. Strange lens. It’s a little bit of a gamble spending $450 (over here) for something that may break fairly quick. It’s such a crisp lens too. Such a shame.

Leave a Reply

